Friday 7.09.18

Good evening!

Today was the first day of my work experience in the Primary school. My placement is in a special class with 7 students. The class is so small and especially because there are only children who can´t go into mainstream classes, by reason that they have trouble with speech, writing, reading or concentration. In the school are 3 of these classes and every class has a teacher and an assistant teacher. In the beginning, I was with a girl and the assistant student in the “relaxing room”, because in the morning the girl is hyper and stressed. In the relaxing room, the assistant teacher played some relaxing music and started the beamer who shows a picture of the sea. There are some books and some cushion in the room, so the students can lie on the cushions or read a book. I think this idea is really great because after 20 minutes the girl was relaxed and happy. Then we went back to the classroom and put our jackets on. Every Friday the classes do a trip, today we went to the playground. The only problem was, that everything was wet because it rains during the night. On the playground, I stood at one door, so the children can´t run away. After 1 hour we went back to school for lunch. After the children ate, the assistant teacher and I had our lunch break in the break room for 30 minutes. Then we went with the children to the schoolyard. One boy in my class hurt, so he came to me and embrace me. That was really sweet! A girl from another class came and played with him, so he forgot that his knee hurts. The school ends at 14:30. It was a hard day, but I like my placement really much!

When I arrived at the home, I baked some muffins for Lisa, because she will fly back tomorrow. We ate dinner together and talked a little bit. The picture shows the café in Aughagower, we took this picture when we went to the shop.

Now, I have to sleep.

Sleep well!!

Leave a comment