Friday 3.5.19

Hi,

Today was the first the day of my work experience in the café.

The café opens at 10am, so I had to be there at 9:30am. First, I got an apron and I had to dry the dishes. Afterwards, Stefanie and I went upstairs in the café and she showed and explained me everything. How to use the cash register, the coffee machine, where I can find everything like the tea or cream if somebody orders scones and so on. In the café, you have to order and pay at the counter, if you order something like cake, scones, or tea you get it straightaway but if you order lunch etc. then the staff brings it to the table. Before the opening, I brang the salads and the cakes upstaires. In the beginning, I just did the easier things like making tea or cleaning the tables, but with the time I did more and more. At the end of the day, I took the orders, used the cash register on my own, brang the food to the tables… I basically did everything that the others are doingas well, besides making the food because there are two other woman who are preparing the meals. But that´s completely fine. At 3:30pm my work experience was over. I have to say that I am not sure if could be a waiter one day, it is really stressful you don´t have one minute (besides lunch break) where you can sit down.

After that, I took the bus to Louisburgh where I met Johanna. We went to her house, there we played Monopoly and talked. After dinner, we made popcorn and watched movies.

More about that on Sunday.

See you!

Leave a comment